How to get away from Qwerty?

Comments specifically about typing on TS keyboards, and about key layouts.

Moderator: The00Dustin

How to get away from Qwerty?

Postby TorbenGB » 23 Sep 2005, 11:53

Hi all, it's great to see how active this forum is. Now I'm having a question myself and I'm hoping you have some comments on this:
How do you combine "30-60 minutes daily Dvorak training" with a 10-hours-per-day typing lifestyle?
(This has been touched in this earlier post.)

There are obvious reasons for using Qwerty (mostly old habits; and being able to use keyboards on other machines), and there are several good reasons for using Dvorak instead, especially for the TS crowd (less reaching, more comfort and accuracy). My problem is that I want to switch to Dvorak because I type so much but at the same time it's so damn hard to switch because I'm solidly stuck in 20-year-old Qwerty habits (and my PDA has Qwerty...).

Unfortunately I'm not too good at disciplined Dvorak training (though the Ten Thumbs Typing Tutoris truly great!). I tried for a week to use only Dvorak, with the typing tutor a few times a day and pick-typing my way through the rest of the day, but the extremely slow typing speed is putting me off. I find that whenever I need to type any real amounts, I fall back to Qwerty -- and because my TS is still set to Dvorak, I'm actually typing this on a real keyboard (otherwise used by my fiancèe at this computer)! :oops:

So what I'm looking for is an effective method of abandoning Qwerty for good without losing my patience.
TorbenGB - webmaster & forum admin
TorbenGB
Site Admin

Postby ken gray » 23 Sep 2005, 13:22

You can do what I did.....Burn your ships!

OS's have their own method of changing the keyboard layout so you can turn that Qrappy kbrd into Dvarak with a few mouse clicks so you won't be going back and forth.

Just think of your really slow typing during those long report writing sessions as a real world Typing Tudor. :wink: