Igesture Mini works on mac?

Comments specifically about the mousepad devices.

Moderator: The00Dustin

Post Reply
ncc1701d
Hang-around
Posts: 8
Joined: 15 Feb 2006, 22:40
Contact:

Igesture Mini works on mac?

Post by ncc1701d »

hi,
I have the Igesture MIni keybord/mousepad.

can i just attach to any mac and have it work?
i have only used on windows so far.
thanks

User avatar
aegis
Regular
Posts: 32
Joined: 26 Apr 2005, 08:04
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by aegis »

I use my mini on both Mac and Windows via a KVM switch with no problems at all. You might want to map some gestures for expose. I find the fn keys on the mini a little fiddly.

Daniel.

ccompbell107
Familiar
Posts: 23
Joined: 16 Dec 2006, 15:08
Contact:

which kvm switch do you recommend?

Post by ccompbell107 »

I have a linux box and a PC - I'd like to get a kvm switch to use the touchstream and monitor. Is there one you suggest?

User avatar
ivanw
Zealot
Posts: 390
Joined: 29 Jul 2005, 12:32
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by ivanw »

I use Synergy with my Windows box and a Windows laptop, 90% satisfied. You should give it a try: no hardware involved, TCP/IP instead.

ccompbell107
Familiar
Posts: 23
Joined: 16 Dec 2006, 15:08
Contact:

Post by ccompbell107 »

Thank you Ivan, I'll give it a try before I spend money on a switch.

The00Dustin
Grizzled Veteran
Posts: 185
Joined: 28 Apr 2005, 22:07
Contact:

Post by The00Dustin »

I'm doing the same thing between Linux and Windows.
Using Windows as the server and Linux as the client.
I regularly notice the following issues:
1) When remote desktopping to the Windows box, I lose all control after a short while & can't regain it until I physicaly stop or restart synergy on the computer.
2) Copy / Paste (between computers) stops working & I'm pasting the wrong password to the Linux box over & over (though a KVM offers no copy / paste between computers).
3) In addition to the normal Windows "CTRL / ALT / Shift Stuck When They're Not" Issues, those keys sometimes seem to stop functioning on the client box, and sometimes, when I try to type on the server box (windows) hitting a key makes the active window go inactiv & I cannot type more than one character at a time without restarting synergy(making everything normal again)
3) On a rare occassion, my cursor gets stuck on the client machine & I have to kill the client software to get back to the main machine, I then have to physically access the client to sart up Synergy on itagain.

These issues may be caused by other software on my machines, and they are all easy to deal with (irritating, nonetheless), but by expecting them, at least you won't be baffeled by them at some point in the future. ;)

ccompbell107
Familiar
Posts: 23
Joined: 16 Dec 2006, 15:08
Contact:

Post by ccompbell107 »

I wondered why Ivan said he was only 90% satisfied. I appreciate the heads up!

User avatar
ivanw
Zealot
Posts: 390
Joined: 29 Jul 2005, 12:32
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by ivanw »

ccompbell107 wrote:I wondered why Ivan said he was only 90% satisfied. I appreciate the heads up!
Well, the 10% were exactly what The00Dustin did put into words. ...Thanks for the review I've avoided ;).

My conclusion would also sound the same... I'm happy with this free and eventually improving solution...

In the event of weird behavior, I just restart everything and it buys me some hours of qwerty on my f...... azerty laptop. :twisted:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest