Spread 2 Fingertips tap registering when hold is being used

Comments specifically about gestures and mouse actions - on any FW product.

Moderator: The00Dustin

Post Reply
lee griggs
Smarty Pants
Posts: 83
Joined: 21 Aug 2005, 20:49
Contact:

Spread 2 Fingertips tap registering when hold is being used

Post by lee griggs »

Hi Ivan, I am having problems with Spread 2 Fingertips.

When I use the hold gesture it usually activates the tap gesture as well.

Have you encountered this problem?

Can I send you my current gesture file?

cheers,
lee

User avatar
ivanw
Zealot
Posts: 390
Joined: 29 Jul 2005, 12:32
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Spread 2 Fingertips tap registering when hold is being u

Post by ivanw »

lee griggs wrote:Can I send you my current gesture file?
It would be the best thing to do!

The00Dustin
Grizzled Veteran
Posts: 185
Joined: 28 Apr 2005, 22:07
Contact:

Post by The00Dustin »

This sounds familiar to me, though it might have been the tap action being used (along with the slide action) when a slide was issued. Either way, it was a long time ago on the old forum, so you might want to search there to see what people discovered (wasn't my issue, though I was able to replicate it, but I really don't remember what came of it).
Dustin

User avatar
ivanw
Zealot
Posts: 390
Joined: 29 Jul 2005, 12:32
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by ivanw »

There is a difference between your configuration file and mine:

I have such a combination working as expected that has a "Minimum Hold Time" of 350ms where yours has only 125ms.

You may check with a higher value there because such a short time qualifies even for a tap.

  • Thumb+Pimky (L Spread)
  • Hold PunctPad On
  • ChordHold Properties tab
    Minimum Hold Time = 125

lee griggs
Smarty Pants
Posts: 83
Joined: 21 Aug 2005, 20:49
Contact:

Post by lee griggs »

Thats strange, Ive just checked mine and it says 300ms. Maybe it is not registering as 300? It feels like 300....

User avatar
ivanw
Zealot
Posts: 390
Joined: 29 Jul 2005, 12:32
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by ivanw »

As this is what i can read from your configuration file, I think we are not talking about the same gesture.

I wanted to quote the relevant xml lines but we have a bug in our current version of phpBB that makes it impossible. (portions with "lower" and "greater" symbols are swallowed).

lee griggs
Smarty Pants
Posts: 83
Joined: 21 Aug 2005, 20:49
Contact:

Post by lee griggs »

As this is what i can read from your configuration file, I think we are not talking about the same gesture.
ah yes. It looks like the chord I am talking about is called:

Word Transpose

Its near the bottom of the gesture editor for the right hand.

User avatar
ivanw
Zealot
Posts: 390
Joined: 29 Jul 2005, 12:32
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by ivanw »

OK, not a timing problem then.

At this point, the only difference between this gesture and another that works is a missing ChordLift.

Maybe a ChordHold and a Synctap cannot coexist unless a ChordLift is well defined and handled. Unless you've already checked that, a ChordLift with an Empty action may do the trick.

Also, any uneventful action could replace the Empty action if this one does not make it any better.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests