Dvorak

Talk about the weather, movies, whatever -- just not FW stuff.

Moderator: The00Dustin

Post Reply
drew
Regular
Posts: 26
Joined: 26 Apr 2005, 00:48
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Dvorak

Post by drew »

Found this The Dvorak Zine on Slashdot it is an interesting site with a cartoon about the Dvorak layout that is discussed around here frequently. I switched to dvorak on my qwerty TS and have never looked back or at my keys either :lol:

moof
Familiar
Posts: 19
Joined: 09 Jun 2005, 21:36
Contact:

Post by moof »

I've been on Dvorak for over a year now and like it much better than QWERTY. Go for it!

Shawn_Milo
Regular
Posts: 37
Joined: 27 Apr 2005, 13:52
Contact:

Post by Shawn_Milo »

On my Touchstream LP, I set the right palm gesture to switch layouts. (Up with Dvorak, down with QWERTY!) ;o)

<rant>
The thing that sucks about Windows -- well, another thing, is that if you switch layouts, it only takes effect for the currently open app. That doesn't even include new windows and pop-up dialogue boxes (such as password prompts, where you only see pretty ******* symbols and don't know why your password doesn't work).

OS X and Linux (KDE, anyway) don't behave in this bass-ackwards manner...
</rant>

Milo

staygood
Familiar
Posts: 11
Joined: 21 Jun 2005, 21:21
Location: Palo Alto, CA, USA
Contact:

Post by staygood »

That was one of the cool things about Tiger (Mac OS 10.4), you can switch the keyboard layout during the login. It is the default that keyboard switching affects all apps, but there is an option to make it per-document.

Windows still blows. As I am Touchstream-less, I bought a TypeMatrix so I could switch to Dvorak transparently in Windows.

ken gray
Site Admin
Posts: 100
Joined: 28 Apr 2005, 18:33
Contact:

Post by ken gray »

I don't have any problem switching in windows xp or 98.
i have Dv setup as my default on my laptop....

bryanlharris
Hang-around
Posts: 9
Joined: 01 Mar 2006, 16:37
Contact:

dumb windows

Post by bryanlharris »

Windows login prompt I have to sit there and figure out what my password is letter by letter... on Mac I just press [command]-[space] and it switches to dvorak, so much easier.

Shawn_Milo
Regular
Posts: 37
Joined: 27 Apr 2005, 13:52
Contact:

Re: dumb windows

Post by Shawn_Milo »

bryanlharris wrote:Windows login prompt I have to sit there and figure out what my password is letter by letter... on Mac I just press [command]-[space] and it switches to dvorak, so much easier.
I completely understand. Windows is so annoying in both that and the fact that if you switch the layout when you are logged in it only changes it for the current window.

My only suggestion is to get a switchable keyboard. I use the TypeMatrix 2030, and it's labeled Dvorak, but hard-wired QWERTY. That way, if I'm using a computer I can't change (or logging into Windows), I hit the "Dvorak Lock" and have a good time. If I have changed the OS to Dvorak, I can leave it at the default and still type good old Dvorak.

ShawnMilo

nomaded
Smarty Pants
Posts: 131
Joined: 27 Apr 2005, 04:11
Location: MA
Contact:

Post by nomaded »

I think as long as you completely remove the "US" layout from your account in windows, your login will be in dvorak. I forget exactly how I got it to work, but it's doable.
@nomaded

TouchStream Mini - February 26, 2002 - Sold
TouchStream Stealth - March 18, 2002 - Windows 7 Ultimate (home)
TouchStream MacNTouch (white) - July 23, 2003 - Retired
TouchStream LP - March 31, 2004 - In storage
TouchStream MacNTouch (silver) - December 1, 2004 - In storage
Stenovations Digitouch (dvorak) - 2007 - Windows 7 Ultimate (work)
Stenovations Digitouch (dvorak) - 2007 - In storage

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests