No Fingerworks Device Found

Support about issues that aren't clearly in one of the above areas.

Moderator: The00Dustin

No Fingerworks Device Found

Postby aegis » 04 Dec 2006, 09:38

I've just moved jobs and company policy is to not allow Administrator access tp PCs. A system administrator has installed the FW utils for me and they seem to be working. However the keyboard is not detected. If I unplug/replug my TS I get the usual HID device messages and everything else is working fine.

Any ideas, bearing in mind that I cannot install/uninstall hardware or drivers?

This is not the end of the world as the keyboard is usable and I could configure it at home at a pinch.

Thanks,

Daniel.
User avatar
aegis
Regular
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 26 Apr 2005, 08:04
Location: London, UK

Postby ivanw » 04 Dec 2006, 10:38

Although, I use to work with Windows everyday, I'll never call myself a specialist on the subject. This said, logic tells that you don't have the necessary privilege required by the device-dependent process. It looks like you cannot satisfy this process needs in order to operate the plug and play configuration.

As you said, we are lucky to work with such a smart device which firmware is all it needs to operate. It requires nothing from the driver, which is not the case of those "smart" world's most advanced mouse from Logitech with their Setpoint crappy driver. :wink:
User avatar
ivanw
Zealot
 
Posts: 390
Joined: 29 Jul 2005, 12:32
Location: Paris, France

Postby aegis » 04 Dec 2006, 11:04

I have asked the administrator to uninstall the default Microsoft HID devices. I'm hoping that on a restart the Fingerworks ones will be picked up instead.

I'll post my findings for posterity :D

Daniel.
User avatar
aegis
Regular
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 26 Apr 2005, 08:04
Location: London, UK


Return to Other troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron