Absolute mode

Comments specifically about gestures and mouse actions - on any FW product.

Moderator: The00Dustin

Absolute mode

Postby jm duchenne » 13 Apr 2006, 14:27

Hi,

I've bought a iGesture pad last year but actually don't use it because I need it to work in absolute mode instead of mouse mode.

I remember that someone has written that it might be possible, but I don't remember where, perhaps on the previous FW forum...

Does anybody knows if there is a chance to be possible ?

Even the possibility to define small absolute zones to send keystrokes would be useful, but I'm not a programmer.

This pad is (was) certainly a good product, but has no interest for me in relative mode (audio softwares and plugins control). I have payed a lot for it (shippment to France + taxes !) but perhaps I can sell it if there is no hope :( ?

Thanks !
jm duchenne

Postby ivanw » 13 Apr 2006, 20:27

There is a technical solution alright. You can see something working that way in the SDK part of the software package.:
Code: Select all
C:\program files\FingerWorks\sdk\FWHID_Hand Tracking\examples\contacts\contact_example.exe
and
C:\program files\FingerWorks\sdk\FWHID_Hand Tracking\examples\paths\path_example.exe

I could capture these screenshots from those two programs:
Image Image
This is FingerWorks Hand Tracking SDK. I could not be successful with a quick try. This may be useful for someone comfortable with Windows development. As one of the Unix/Java kind, I experienced some missing library burden.

I would have liked being able to play at this level of interaction with the device. You can see exactly what you are looking for illustrated by the contact_example.exe demo.

I wanted to make it a Java based application but I could not manage with the SDK...
Anyone could comment on that :?:
ivanw
Zealot

Postby jm duchenne » 14 Apr 2006, 09:35

Astonishing !!!
I can't believe that this has not been widely shown and exploited ?