Page 1 of 1

Igesture Mini works on mac?

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2006, 20:45
by ncc1701d
hi,
I have the Igesture MIni keybord/mousepad.

can i just attach to any mac and have it work?
i have only used on windows so far.
thanks

PostPosted: 09 Nov 2006, 10:33
by aegis
I use my mini on both Mac and Windows via a KVM switch with no problems at all. You might want to map some gestures for expose. I find the fn keys on the mini a little fiddly.

Daniel.

which kvm switch do you recommend?

PostPosted: 20 Jan 2007, 03:41
by ccompbell107
I have a linux box and a PC - I'd like to get a kvm switch to use the touchstream and monitor. Is there one you suggest?

PostPosted: 20 Jan 2007, 12:07
by ivanw
I use Synergy with my Windows box and a Windows laptop, 90% satisfied. You should give it a try: no hardware involved, TCP/IP instead.

PostPosted: 20 Jan 2007, 20:50
by ccompbell107
Thank you Ivan, I'll give it a try before I spend money on a switch.

PostPosted: 22 Jan 2007, 21:37
by The00Dustin
I'm doing the same thing between Linux and Windows.
Using Windows as the server and Linux as the client.
I regularly notice the following issues:
1) When remote desktopping to the Windows box, I lose all control after a short while & can't regain it until I physicaly stop or restart synergy on the computer.
2) Copy / Paste (between computers) stops working & I'm pasting the wrong password to the Linux box over & over (though a KVM offers no copy / paste between computers).
3) In addition to the normal Windows "CTRL / ALT / Shift Stuck When They're Not" Issues, those keys sometimes seem to stop functioning on the client box, and sometimes, when I try to type on the server box (windows) hitting a key makes the active window go inactiv & I cannot type more than one character at a time without restarting synergy(making everything normal again)
3) On a rare occassion, my cursor gets stuck on the client machine & I have to kill the client software to get back to the main machine, I then have to physically access the client to sart up Synergy on itagain.

These issues may be caused by other software on my machines, and they are all easy to deal with (irritating, nonetheless), but by expecting them, at least you won't be baffeled by them at some point in the future. ;)

PostPosted: 23 Jan 2007, 00:30
by ccompbell107
I wondered why Ivan said he was only 90% satisfied. I appreciate the heads up!

PostPosted: 23 Jan 2007, 02:45
by ivanw
ccompbell107 wrote:I wondered why Ivan said he was only 90% satisfied. I appreciate the heads up!

Well, the 10% were exactly what The00Dustin did put into words. ...Thanks for the review I've avoided ;).

My conclusion would also sound the same... I'm happy with this free and eventually improving solution...

In the event of weird behavior, I just restart everything and it buys me some hours of qwerty on my f...... azerty laptop. :twisted: