"F" as "enter", and CapsLock issue

Comments specifically about the keyboard devices.

Moderator: The00Dustin

"F" as "enter", and CapsLock issue

Postby DO'Coin » 03 May 2006, 17:32

Silver Dvorak TS, using it with a Dell Laptop.

Two issues:

1. When I type near the "F" (trying to hit "F" but stubby short fingers), I get "Enter" about 3/4 of the time. The only way I can seem to prevent it is to watch my finger hit the center of the key. Same kind of thing happens very occasionally near the D key.

2. I found a setting while using the TS with my old desktop that did CapsLock for one word only upon double tapping 4 fingers above home row. On the Dell, I can't seem to find the setting again, so I have to tap CapsLock on and then off again at the end of the word.

Any tips? I'm an accountant, not a programmer, but I'm game to try anything, although Ivanw's XmlManual looks a little scary.

Thanks,
Dwayne
DO'Coin

Re: "F" as "enter", and CapsLock issue

Postby ivanw » 03 May 2006, 22:10

DO'Coin wrote:1. When I type near the "F" (trying to hit "F" but stubby short fingers), I get "Enter" about 3/4 of the time. The only way I can seem to prevent it is to watch my finger hit the center of the key. Same kind of thing happens very occasionally near the D key.
Chances are for some of your other fingers may touch the surface behind your back when you don't pay attention. I bet on your thumb being the bad guy. The only other way is the two handed home row tap and this one does not come by accident.

Any place you hit with one finger will trigger the closest calculated key and Enter is not any close to F or D. This being an observable behavior, you should not look for an obscure explanation before you have eliminated the more likely ones. If you are a very new TS user, beware of the ghosts that seem to be using your keyboard while you type. :wink: You have a few months of hard work ahead.