Touchstream LP on WIN7?

Comments specifically about the keyboard devices.

Moderator: The00Dustin

Touchstream LP on WIN7?

Postby FabioZ » 14 Feb 2010, 01:03

I've heard it's not working on win7, can someone please confirm/deny or I'll be stuck forever on XP?
FabioZ
Hang-around
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2010, 20:21

Postby edhubbell@gmail.com » 15 Feb 2010, 07:11

Works fine for me. W7 64 bit. I think there are some issues with the Fingerworks software working (not sure if that is because of 64 bit or W7), but the board itself works just like it always has for me. ~Ed
edhubbell@gmail.com
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 Jan 2010, 05:31

Postby FabioZ » 15 Feb 2010, 21:47

priceless information, thank you so much!!
FabioZ
Hang-around
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2010, 20:21

Postby Meesters » 26 Feb 2010, 20:32

That is nice to hear.

Thanks
Meesters
Regular
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 12 Jan 2010, 00:43

Postby nomaded » 20 Apr 2010, 23:40

The devices work fine, since they're just USB HID keyboard and mice, to the OS. The problem is that with the current (old) Java tools, there's no way to program the devices, at least with W7 x64. Not surprisingly, the XP mode VM won't detect it either.
@nomaded

TouchStream Mini - February 26, 2002 - Sold
TouchStream Stealth - March 18, 2002 - Windows 7 Ultimate (home)
TouchStream MacNTouch (white) - July 23, 2003 - Retired
TouchStream LP - March 31, 2004 - In storage
TouchStream MacNTouch (silver) - December 1, 2004 - In storage
Stenovations Digitouch (dvorak) - 2007 - Windows 7 Ultimate (work)
Stenovations Digitouch (dvorak) - 2007 - In storage
nomaded
Smarty Pants
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 27 Apr 2005, 04:11
Location: MA

Re: Touchstream LP on WIN7?

Postby ShawnMcCool » 29 Mar 2011, 16:33

Are you saying that the massive default gesture library works in windows 7?
ShawnMcCool
Familiar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 29 Mar 2011, 16:30

Re: Touchstream LP on WIN7?

Postby TorbenGB » 29 Mar 2011, 19:17

Yes Shawn, everything the FingerWorks devices can do, they can do in Win7 too! The only limitation is that you cannot CHANGE what they do.

@Nomaded, of course the solution is to run the FW software in WinXP. If you have a copy of WinXP and the license key, then you can install it *inside* Win7 -- use either Sun VirtualBox or VMware to create a virtual machine, and then install XP on that. It's what I did, and this works on any system (I'm currently on Linux, and the current Linux versions are also incompatible, just like Win7). See here how to do that: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=2861#p5892
TorbenGB - webmaster & forum admin
User avatar
TorbenGB
Site Admin
 
Posts: 518
Joined: 26 Apr 2005, 00:07
Location: Vienna, Austria


Return to Keyboards: TouchStream, MacNTouch, Digitouch, Mini

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron