Page 1 of 1

Dvorak

PostPosted: 15 Jun 2005, 00:10
by drew
Found this The Dvorak Zine on Slashdot it is an interesting site with a cartoon about the Dvorak layout that is discussed around here frequently. I switched to dvorak on my qwerty TS and have never looked back or at my keys either :lol:

PostPosted: 14 Jul 2005, 17:49
by moof
I've been on Dvorak for over a year now and like it much better than QWERTY. Go for it!

PostPosted: 14 Jul 2005, 18:11
by Shawn_Milo
On my Touchstream LP, I set the right palm gesture to switch layouts. (Up with Dvorak, down with QWERTY!) ;o)

<rant>
The thing that sucks about Windows -- well, another thing, is that if you switch layouts, it only takes effect for the currently open app. That doesn't even include new windows and pop-up dialogue boxes (such as password prompts, where you only see pretty ******* symbols and don't know why your password doesn't work).

OS X and Linux (KDE, anyway) don't behave in this bass-ackwards manner...
</rant>

Milo

PostPosted: 20 Jul 2005, 07:00
by staygood
That was one of the cool things about Tiger (Mac OS 10.4), you can switch the keyboard layout during the login. It is the default that keyboard switching affects all apps, but there is an option to make it per-document.

Windows still blows. As I am Touchstream-less, I bought a TypeMatrix so I could switch to Dvorak transparently in Windows.

PostPosted: 20 Jul 2005, 13:16
by ken gray
I don't have any problem switching in windows xp or 98.
i have Dv setup as my default on my laptop....

dumb windows

PostPosted: 02 Mar 2006, 08:50
by bryanlharris
Windows login prompt I have to sit there and figure out what my password is letter by letter... on Mac I just press [command]-[space] and it switches to dvorak, so much easier.

Re: dumb windows

PostPosted: 02 Mar 2006, 20:23
by Shawn_Milo
bryanlharris wrote:Windows login prompt I have to sit there and figure out what my password is letter by letter... on Mac I just press [command]-[space] and it switches to dvorak, so much easier.


I completely understand. Windows is so annoying in both that and the fact that if you switch the layout when you are logged in it only changes it for the current window.

My only suggestion is to get a switchable keyboard. I use the TypeMatrix 2030, and it's labeled Dvorak, but hard-wired QWERTY. That way, if I'm using a computer I can't change (or logging into Windows), I hit the "Dvorak Lock" and have a good time. If I have changed the OS to Dvorak, I can leave it at the default and still type good old Dvorak.

ShawnMilo

PostPosted: 02 Mar 2006, 22:03
by nomaded
I think as long as you completely remove the "US" layout from your account in windows, your login will be in dvorak. I forget exactly how I got it to work, but it's doable.