Kyrstellaine

Moderator: The00Dustin

Kyrstellaine

Postby Kyrstellaine » 05 Nov 2013, 21:34

I'm a software engineer, tech geek, quilter, knitter, and I've recently added tatting to my repertoire. I've had my Touchstream LP (burgandy, printed Qwerty, but set to Dvorak) somewhere around 10 years. I've been touch-typing Dvorak since '99, nearly always on a keyboard with Qwerty keycaps, so my brain translates on the few cases where I have to look at my fingers (generally to correct drift on the TS).

My biggest physical stress issue is shoulder & neck pain from having the mouse (or Magic Touchpad) out on the right side, so being able to type and mouse on the same surface was a Godsend. Somewhat to my surprise, I had no problems with arms & wrists while using the MBP. However, after only a week with the standard Apple keyboard and touchpad, I started having problems again. Thanks for keeping this site up & running!

My TS LP was my primary keyboard at work for years, until I got a MacBook Pro as a work station four years ago. Now that I've got a Mac Pro at work, it's come out of retirement (I was using it on my non-gaming machine at home) and is back in the office. I've also got a Digitouch, I think with the Dvorak layout printed, but it's been sitting on the shelf for backup long enough I'm not sure. My LP has seen enough use that the home row + thumb resting spots are all shiny - not worn through, thankfully, but definitely worn compared to the rest of the surface.

Luckily, I've still got an old laptop running 32bit XP that I can run the Fingerworks utilities on... I saw instructions about creating a VM, which I need to look into in the very near future, because that laptop has started getting flaky.
Kyrstellaine
Hang-around

Re: Kyrstellaine

Postby TorbenGB » 06 Nov 2013, 09:33

Welcome, Kyrstellaine! It's fun that your profile says you signed up in 2006 but you write your introduction in 2013, it's never too late to say hi! :-)